Improve print quality

Stimulsoft Reports.Flex discussion
hugo
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:46 am

Improve print quality

Post by hugo »

Hello,

One of my customers complained about the print quality.
I made a report based on an older Crystal Reports and he said that comparing both, the Flex version seems a draft !

He will provide proofs but meanwhile there is any internal parameter to improve the quality ?
HighAley
Posts: 8431
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:40 am
Location: Stimulsoft Office

Re: Improve print quality

Post by HighAley »

Hello.

The best solution is to export a report to PDF and then print it.

Thank you.
hugo
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:46 am

Re: Improve print quality

Post by hugo »

Hello Aleksey,

But that could not be the solution otherwise I can use any other report engine, generate the report on the server side and use always PDFs as viewer/print solution !

The advantage of Simulsoft.Fx is just the Flex Viewer.
Vladimir
Posts: 1462
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:05 am
Location: Earth

Re: Improve print quality

Post by Vladimir »

Hello,

Unfortunately this is a limitation of Flash technology - report is printed as images (not vector format), so it may be some blurring the printed report.

Thank you.
hugo
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:46 am

Re: Improve print quality

Post by hugo »

Did you already set printJob.printAsBitmap = false ?

See this: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/485631
hugo
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:46 am

Re: Improve print quality

Post by hugo »

As a workaround, it's possible to print as pdf ?
I mean, the Stimulsoft.Fx can export to PDF (bytearray). Can I send to print without Flex (Flash) ?
Vladimir
Posts: 1462
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:05 am
Location: Earth

Re: Improve print quality

Post by Vladimir »

Hello,
Did you already set printJob.printAsBitmap = false ?
See this: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/485631
This option has its drawback - printing is carried out without semitones, only black and white.
We have added the following option, it can be useful when printing text without elements of report styles:

Code: Select all

StiOptions.print.printAsBitmap = true;
The update will be available in the next prerelease build.

As a workaround, it's possible to print as pdf ?
I mean, the Stimulsoft.Fx can export to PDF (bytearray). Can I send to print without Flex (Flash) ?
You can export the report to PDF using the following code:

Code: Select all

			private function onExportPDFClick(): void
			{
				addTextExportPDF();
				
				// Create new report object
				var report: StiReport = new StiReport();
				// Load document from XML string
				report.loadDocumentFromString(documentString);
				// Create a new PDF export service
				var service: StiPdfExportService = new StiPdfExportService();
				// Create a new PDF export settings
				var settings: StiPdfExportSettings = new StiPdfExportSettings();
				// Create a buffer for report exporting
				var buffer: ByteArray = new ByteArray();
				// Export report to ByteArray
				service.exportPdf(report, buffer, settings);
			}
Thank you.
hugo
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:46 am

Re: Improve print quality

Post by hugo »

Thank you for the update.

About the black and white, I found this post that could solve that problem and then we can get perfect printing and at the same time full color: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/50944
Vladimir
Posts: 1462
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:05 am
Location: Earth

Re: Improve print quality

Post by Vladimir »

Hello,

Thanks for the link. Unfortunately this is not a solution, because the transparent background is used to draw the text in the report, and in the following solution is proposed to have a white background without alpha. In any case, in the next build, an option to disable the print as image will be available.

Thank you.
hugo
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:46 am

Re: Improve print quality

Post by hugo »

Vladimir,

So, what are the issues of using disable the print as image ?
Are only the pictures that I use with background transparency (if yes, I can use images with white background because I don't use background images).
The textbox will draw currently ?

And when will be available the next build for download so I can test ?

Thank you,
Hugo.
Locked